Board of Adjustment

The Board of Adjustment hears and decides appeals when an applicant requests an exception to the Unified Development Code. This board is unique in that, unlike the other city boards and commissions, its decisions are final. No recommendations are made for the City Council to act upon. Appeals of board decisions are referred to the Circuit Court of Jackson County.

Established by Municipal Code Section 402.030


Meeting are held on the second Wednesday of each month on an as-needed basis. The meetings are located in the Council Chambers at the Public Safety Building, 1100 SW Smith, at 6:30 p.m. 

Click here to see the 2018 Board of Adjustment calendar.


The Board of  Adjustment is comprised of 5 members and up to 3 alternate members who must be citizens of Blue Springs. Members serve for 5 year terms. Members are appointed by the Mayor with approval by the City Council.
Board Members
Term Expires
DeWayne Duhon May 2017 April 2022
Evelyn Ericson May 2016 April 2021
Laurie Hatfield May 2013 May 2023
Frederick Manning May 2016 April 2021
Brian Ross May 2015 April 2020
Ron Amos (Alternate Member 1) May 2016 April 2021
William Washington III (Alternate Member 2) May 2016 April 2021